Wednesday, March 02, 2011

ABC's of Me

I don't usually post surveys on The New Me (that's what Facebook is for!) but I've enjoyed reading this meme on some of my favorite blogs and it seemed like a good middle-of-the-week post. Enjoy!

A. Age: 28 years young.

B. Bed size: Full, which can be quite cozy with two people and at least 100 pounds of dog (sometimes 200 pounds, depending on whether Seamus decides to sleep on the couch or the bed). We're hoping to upgrade to a Queen size soon! 

C. Chore you dislike: The floors. I hate mopping and vacuuming.

D. Dogs: But of course! I have two lovely rescue mutts of the big and black variety. If you've read my blog for any amount of time, you're already well acquainted with Seamus and Calvin. Nathan is highly allergic to cats, so we'll be dog people for the rest of our lives. I wouldn't have it any other way!

E. Essential start to your day: If it's a work day, exercise and then a cup of coffee at my desk. On the weekends, I like to start my day with a cup of coffee in bed while watching Hulu on the laptop. Coffee, however, is a constant.

F. Favorite color: Green has been my power color for a very long time.

G. Gold or silver: Silver. I'm not much of a jewelry person in general, earrings being the main exception.

H. Height: 5'7". I am one inch taller than Nathan. True fact, even if he denies it.

I. Instruments you play(ed): I played the trombone in junior high for exactly two weeks. Then I gave up because I felt like everyone was learning faster than me. I regret that now - I would love to have even a modicum of musical talent, but alas. It is not so.

J. Job title: Officially, Research Development Specialist.Unofficially, writer, librarian and dog walker.

K. Kids: Not now and probably not ever. I have zero maternal urges for anything not covered in fur and slobber.

L. Live: A tiny town in East Texas. Population 30,000, not counting the livestock. I have lived here for over six years, which is hard to believe.

M. Mom’s name: Ellen. Which also happens to be my middle name!

N. Nicknames: Chrissy is my nickname - my full name is Christine, but nobody calls me that. Most of my New York family and friends call me Chris, but it never caught on in Texas.

O. Overnight hospital stays: None that I can think of. I've been very lucky thus far.

P. Pet peeves: Not much bothers me. I think my biggest pet peeve is people who litter. It just shows such a lack of consideration and personal responsibility. When I see someone carelessly toss their garbage on the sidewalk or out the window of their car, I get angry and then depressed. And then I usually pick it up and throw it in the trash.

Q. Quote from a movie:
"I like your nurse's uniform, guy. "
"These are my O.R. scrubs."
"O, R THEY?"

R. Righty or lefty: Righty.

S. Siblings: I have two younger sisters. One is 25 and the other is 22. They both live in New York and I don't see them nearly enough.

T. Time you wake up: 5:30 during the week, between 6:30 and 7:00 on the weekends. I'm one of those annoying people who love the morning and greet the day with chipper enthusiasm. The downside is that I have trouble staying awake past 10pm.

U. Underwear: I wear it almost every day. ;)

V. Vegetables you don't like: Hm. Tough one. I honestly can't think of one vegetable that I do not like. I have a number of fruits I'm not fond of, but I'll eat just about anything in the vegetable kingdom. 

W. What makes you run late: Trying to do too much at once. I always think I have time before leaving for work to fold the laundry, walk the dogs, work out, prepare snacks, check my email, play another round of Words With Friends, etc. Before I know it, I'm five minutes late for work. That said, I'm pretty good about showing up on time for things so it doesn't happen that often. 

X. X-rays you’ve had: Just my teeth. Somehow, I have never broken a bone in my life. (Knock on wood!) 

Y. Yummy food you make: I make lots of yummy foods, but my most recent experiment in deliciousness was the carrot cake I made for Nathan's birthday. I didn't photograph it but I want to blog about it, so I will be forced - forced! - to make it again this weekend. Poor me! ;) 

Z. Zoo animal favorites: I prefer my wild animals to remain wild. That said, my favorite wild animal is probably the elephant. Or the giraffe. I like monkeys too. Also penguins. This question is almost hard as the vegetable question! 

Have you completed this survey? If so, link it up in the comments and share the ABCs of you, with me!